My Language Love Affairs: Arabic

This is the third installment of a series. Please begin here.

arabic

The next season I met Arabic. I had seen her go around with some of my friends and she attracted me. She was different from all the others. Everything I knew about languages had to be reconstructed. She helped me along–stern, but forgiving. When I was with her each new word was a song, and the instruction was a dance. I embraced her every thing. She gave me a new name: رشا (Rasha)  But admittedly, I knew our relationship would be short-lived. Arabic was my rebound language after I screwed things up with German. After my three credit hours were earned, I kept the flirtation up a few months into the summer, but then I realized my focus should be elsewhere.

2 thoughts on “My Language Love Affairs: Arabic

Leave a Reply

