Teaching: Week One

T.T

I still do not have WiFi in my apartment, but I’m working on it. I feel bad that I haven’t been posting consistently. I mean not only is this blog to keep everyone updated and be informative about me teaching in Korea–I also want to keep it as tool for improving my writing skills. I’m not the best at blog-style writing, but I wanna be pro, yo. Anyway, what I’m saying is I’m going to get back on a MON-WED-FRI posting schedule even if I have to stay in cafes all the time. That’s what real writers do anyway, right?

But back to Korea. And more specifically, teaching in Korea.

I completed my first week of teaching last Friday. I should mention that I was told that the first week I would just be observing, but that didn’t end up being the case. KOREAN SURPRISE (a term I’ve borrowed from EFL teacher Bridget Maret). It was simple enough though, just some simple introductory things–class rules/expectations and an about me section. I didn’t teach from the book until Friday with a fourth grade class.

Before arriving in Korea I thought I would be teaching one grade level, but I actually teach grades 3-6. Students here begin learning English in grade 3. I was actually quite impressed with their abilities. Even third grade can read and understand basic words. Actually, my first class was third grade, and the uploader of a Youtube video I planned on showing them had added a lovely caption advertising their new video of their drunken father. Before I could click the comment away I heard students reading, “My father got so drun–.” I don’t think my co-teacher even caught that.

Overall day one was successful. I did manage to make a kid so uncomfortable she hid under her desk for the next five minutes. D’oh. The rest of the week improved with each class. By Friday I was in love with my school, my students, my co-teachers, all of it. Every time I greeted a new class in the door their jaws dropped, they looked me up and down, paused in their tracks, and finally smiled and waved. In the hallways students point at me and whisper to their friends. The next time I see them they bow enthusiastically and try to speak English.

I’m pretty sure I’m the first black woman they’ve seen in real life. Today I caught a girl staring at my afro puff with such an inquisitive look. These children are so awesome and just have such a genuine curiosity. I can’t wait to develop a closer bond with them and to share more of my culture. ^_^ These kids might walk out of my class knowing how to bantu knot, do the electric slide, and talk like they from SC. Haha.

I feel like I have so much to tell, but I don’t want to leave y’all with  this giant wall of text (uploading pictures on this crappy connection–noty ma’am). Hopefully y’all attention span was able to make it through these 500 words, though.

See you Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

