My ‘Cozy’ New Home

Maybe too late in the game, but here it is. My apartment in Daejeon, South Korea. It’s in a small 4 story apartment. I’m on the 4th floor. It could do with some new wallpaper and a wall scrub down, but other than that it’s aesthetically pleasing. But of course it’s smaller than what a lot of people may be used to. However, I think it’s just enough for one person. Actually, it would be nice for two people. If you don’t get annoyed too easily. Anyway, I digress. Time for photos.

Bedroom area. I said bedroom area, because I’m not sure if it qualifies as an entirely separate room. It’s divided from the kitchen area by a sliding glass door.

On the other side of the doors is the kitchen/dining area.
On the other side of the doors is the kitchen/dining area.
I keep them open like this all day until I go to sleep.
I keep them open like this all day until I go to sleep.

Through the bedroom area there’s another set of sliding doors that lead into a small laundry area.

The white rack is where I hang my clothes to dry.
The white rack is where I hang my clothes to dry.

Washing machineThe shelving, cabinet, desk and closet units are a great addition because in a space this small you need storage. Tons of it. I actually want to buy a few more containers to store my various knickknacks.

Shelves getting a little junky.
Shelves getting a little junky.
I added the pictures. But the mod cherry blossom decal came like that. Most apartments here have a funky decal wall, I've noticed.
I added the pictures. But the mod cherry blossom decal came like that. Most apartments here have a funky decal wall, I’ve noticed.

The television was newly purchased by the previous teacher. The desk chair comes with the apartment as well. The white unit in the upper right corner is the A.C.

Next, the kitchen area:

Other side of my sliding doors.
Other side of my sliding doors.
Lots of appliances.
Lots of appliances.

These appliances were all here when I arrived. Previous purchases by previous teachers. There’s a coffee maker, water filter pitcher, water kettle, microwave, and toaster. The toaster oven was my own purchase.

Where I keep my recycling.
Where I keep my recycling.

Trash situation here has been probably the most confusing thing for me. But I think it’s good that I’m being forced to think more critically about the trash that I make and where it goes.

Gas range. Two burners. No stove as you can see. This is pretty standard for apartments like mine.
Gas range. Two burners. No stove as you can see. This is pretty standard for apartments like mine.

The burner is not big enough to cook two things at once… at least not safely. I’ve had so many close calls of pans of hot oil sliding off the eye. Food I’m cooking nearly crashing to the floor. Phew. So you may think you have two burners…but really it’s like one and a half.

Bathroom:

Small. No divided shower.
Small. No divided shower.

As you can see it’s right next to the fridge (which is full size by the way, SCORE!). It’s a wet bathroom. Which means you just stand in the middle of the floor and take a shower. I really love baths though. Especially after an exhausting day. But the closest I get to having a relaxing bathing experience is sitting on my piggy stool and just letting the water run on me. :/

The shower...
The shower…
This set-up is also pretty common.
This set-up is also pretty common.

And that’s that. 🙂 Thanks for checkin’ out my crib. Now GET OUT. Just kidding. Stick around. Leave a comment. If you’re about to start with EPIK and are wondering more about apartment situations just ask me in the comments.

Bye!
Bye!
One thought on “My ‘Cozy’ New Home

Leave a Reply

