Hello again: Regroup–Refocus

Ana here.

I want to reintroduce myself and what my blog is about. I am starting to gather some clearer goals and visions for this blog.

For any newcomers, I am currently an English teacher in Daejeon, South Korea. I want to record my experiences abroad as a black American woman. This blog cannot just be about travel in general, because I do believe that my identifiers make travelling and living abroad an experience wholly different from someone who is a white, German, man, for example.

Lately, black American travelers are becoming more visible not only in physical spaces, but on the web documenting our journeys as well. There’s a huge movement to make ourselves seen. There are tons of communities on Facebook, Tumblr, Instagram, and so on where we come together to support, share experiences, and simply celebrate one another.

It’s true that many black Americans DON’T travel abroad as often and for a multitude of reasons. It may be because we don’t think it’s something we DO, or that we aren’t sure what our interactions with locals will be. And that’s perfectly understandable to me. If you are seen as unwelcome, a threat, or a nuisance in some spaces in your own home country, it’s perfectly reasonable to expect places outside of your home to be even worse.

I want to add my voice to the wealth of other black blogger/vlogger voices that are cropping up all over the web. I want to say that YES we are out here, YES our experiences can be positive, and that there’s a lot we have to go see.

So thank you for reading and following me on this journey. Let’s get out there.

Leave a Reply

