Adriana Meets World

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I’ve Become My Parents.”

I’m not sure if I’m quite old enough to fully answer this question yet, but it doesn’t take a lot of predicting to know that I’ve inherited my parents’ itchy feet. Actually, I think it’s from my grandmother. Although she never lived abroad, she moved around a couple of states plenty of times while my mom was growing up, and I myself have seen her live in at least 6 different places (all within South Carolina).

I was a military brat for the majority of my life, and to be honest I didn’t mind moving around a lot. I actually enjoyed it. I liked being the new kid (at least until high school). But I always thought it wouldn’t be the type of life I would want for my kids if I ever had any.

I swore that if I had a child they would live in the same place their whole lives and it would be great. I think what helped fuel this fantasy were family sitcoms like Boy Meets World. Cory, Eric, and Morgan only knew one house, one town. Cory, Shawn and Topanga all knew each other since they were little kids–going to the same schools together and even the same university. I liked that. I thought it was the right way to live. It would be comfortable and perfectly predictable. Thankfully, I grew up and realized that Cory and the gang were just fictional. What world was he meeting anyway?? What a misleading show.

Today, I can’t think of anything worse for me or any kids I would ever have for them to be born and die in the same place. Of course, some people do like the idea of that. They love thinking that their kids will grow up in the same town, know everyone, play football, get married to their H.S. sweetheart and just stay there.

I understand that some people want to stay in their communities to develop them into something greater. I think that’s awesome, but I still think at some point you should leave to gather a new perspective. Our communities are so so small. Just a tiny bit of dust on the globe. You can’t learn all you need to know by staying in one place. We need to explore our surroundings. Not just the next town over, but the next state, country, continent. Sometimes we have to put ourselves in uncomfortable situations to truly grow. That’s what I would want for my kid. I would want them to be curious–to stay curious. To always want to know just a little more. I don’t want them to be lulled into a state of sitcom contentment. Sorry, Cory.

2 thoughts on “Adriana Meets World

  1. I haven’t watched the show but I think I’ve watched some shows with the same theme – teenagers being lifelong friends, getting married to them and growing in the same community. When I was younger I thought that it’s nice too but over time, I start to get tired of the same plot when they get repeated on other shows. I couldn’t put a word on it, but now that you’ve mentioned it, I think I understand why.

    I agree there’s gotta be a time we must go and explore the world ourselves (maybe it’s because we’re about the same age?) 🙂 Now I’m seeing a lot of shows with “time jumps” though – with the main characters traveling elsewhere. I guess it’s a reflection of how kids’ perception are changing too?

    Like

    • That’s an interesting point. I haven’t been watching much t.v. lately (except Steven Universe lol). But it makes sense that with the way Internet and things can broaden kids’ minds that they would try to reflect more travel/globalization/different worlds in their t.v. shows.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

